An ode to the Roma

16 Jun

Oh Roma, you are by far the most delicious sausage I have ever tasted. You are so good, that you actually might beat out all of the delicious cured meat I ate when I was actually in Rome last summer. Your spicy, succulent and mouth-watering ways had me in such a frenzy that I forgot to take a photo of you – so I had to borrow this one from the Vermont Salumi website.

Roma_Vermont Salumi

Photo credit: Vermont Salumi

Apparently, since I am talking to my dinner, I have officially gone crazy. But not before I tell you quickly about this delicious creation from Vermont Salumi that we came across at the Farmer’s Market recently. I was so taken with the idea of a traditional Italian style sausage made with local, organic and fresh ingredients that lacked all of the nitrates and preservatives usually found in the store bought variety that I had to have a package from this stand. Our bags were already loaded and I gave Brendan a pleading look that I knew he couldn’t refuse. Well it turned out to be worth it. In fact, I don’t actually have enough words to describe how delicious this was- so if you live in north or central Vermont, you must simply go buy something from this place.

PS – I just learned from their website that the owner and chef was born in Italy and trained in traditional butchering, so that’s something you don’t get every day here.  Pretty cool.

Leave a comment